I’ve written before about how book box subscriptions are changing the way we read – but that’s only part of how the local reading scene is changing.

Readers, international and local alike are now turning more and more to Instagram as a platform to share their love for books. And what’s more is that some of these book influencers are  even monetising their posts – often being paid by publishers to promote their titles.

Arranged in styles that vary from arty to messy chic, the visual appeal of this social media network is not only a way to advertise the book you’re reading, but to celebrate the love of reading in a new way.

And local book nerds (myself included – although in comparison my account is very much newbie status) are certainly capitalising on the trend.

Here are 10 stunning bookstagram accounts you should be adding to your feed immediately:

The mom and daughter duo: Meredith & Amy Mara

With more than 37 000 followers, Meredith’s stunning feed focuses on YA fiction and thrillers. Her feed is a kaleidoscope of beautifully arranged and styled photography, and features reviews, themed posts and book subscription unboxings.

Amy

Creativity definitely runs in the family as Amy’s feed, which focuses on contemporary fiction and celebrating all things Harry Potter, is as beautifully designed as Meredith’s.

The mom-daughter duo often host epic book-themed giveaways, and interact regularly with their followers on their respective platforms.

Read_and_Seek

Nihaad was actually one of the first local book lovers I started following on Instagram.

Her Instagram style is clean and sleek and her posts often focus on promoting diversity in books, especially books featuring Muslim characters or books written by Muslim authors.

READ MORE: Our pick of incredible SA authors you should be reading now

Under.the.Midnight.Sky

Another Harry Potter nerd, Abdeah’s talents aren't limited to her Instagram posts, as she’s also started lending her skills as  an artist and illustrator to some of our local book subscription box suppliers.

_Magicandmischief

Like Abdeah above, a number of our local bookstagram nerds are using their talents and not only creating beautiful Instagram posts, but they’re monetising their talents and creating subscription services catered to all book lovers’ desires.

Fatima is one such book lover and instagrammer – her subscription boxes are themed and feature wonderfully curated content that includes the latest book title and a variety of book merchandise.

Mr. Pink. Ink.

Because the boys are in on the book love too! All round book lover Jacques isn’t afraid of showcasing his love for fiction, be it fantasy or YA.

Okaysobooksically

//children of blood & bone \\book review . . //qotd: have you read children of blood and bone — thoughts? . . //where do i even begin talking about this epic book? after hearing nothing but rave reviews, i went into this story with such high expectations. the story itself is big, and magical! i loved the journey the characters went on, and all the history. the characters were colorful and interesting, each in their own way. overall i would say amari surprised me most, and i adored her character arc. i’m so excited to see where she’s going in the second book — yes, i will definitely be picking up the next installment! i also felt like through the eyes of inan i was somehow able to relate to this story and make it my own. the writing was beautiful and honest. i gave the book 4/5 stars. there were some minor things that bothered me, but nothing major. unfortunately i never had that ‘ah-ha’ moment, that moment in the book where you get an unexplained feeing inside yourself, leading to an ‘i love this book’. it was a personal connection, and i’m sure i am one of the only people feeling like this. i liked the book — it is big, and epic, and so filled with adventure and magic — I definitely recommend picking it up. don’t miss out on what is very possibly going to be one of the top books of 2018! . . . #childrenofbloodandbone #bookstagram #yalovin #bookworm #bookaddict #instabooks #bücher #epicreads #bibliophile #booklover #bookstagram #bookgeek #becauseofreading #booknerdigans #yabooks #ireadya #bookish #yareads #ilovebooks #yaliterature #vscocam #booksofinstagram #igreads #sareader

A post shared by Okay So Booksically (@okaysobooksically) on


Andrew’s monochrome feed (with pops of colour in between) features a diverse range of books and literature merchandise that’s absolutely to die for. From candles to book boxes and book reviews, there’s a little something for every kind of book lover.

Sthembilm

Sthembile is another instagrammer whose feed showcases a diverse range of interests and taste in genres. Her posts often features reviews which links to her book blog.

Rachel Morgan


Local author of fantasy and contemporary fiction, Rachel Morgan’s feed is awash in the celebration of all things bookish. Not only does she post about her current reads, but as a writer, she often gives us glimpses into her writing processes, hosts giveaways and posts about her favourite bookish merchandise.

READ MORE: Why does reading Mills and Boon have to be a dirty little secret?

Insignificant.beauties


Another beautiful and kaleidoscopic feed filled with brilliant colour, Esli’s feed feels like you’re dipping your toes into pure happiness. Warning: will also occasionally make you feel hungry.

Sign up to W24’s newsletters so you don't miss out on any of our hot stories and giveaways.