Subscriptions to products or services are nothing new, but over the last few years I’ve noticed a growing in trend in the innovation in which anything and everything from beauty goodies (Hello Rubybox), to gin (the gin box ) and geeky gadgets (Lootcrate) are packaged and tailored to suit your needs and wants.

When I first came across the concept of book subscription boxes, I was immediately excited, although that was tempered by the fact that there were no local options available.  

READ MORE: Yes there are bookstores in Nigeria. And South Africa. And Botswana

So I decided to splurge out and try FairyLoot’s box. They're UK based.

Each month they conceptualise a different theme and include a newly-released book based around it, along with some other goodies that usually include a bit of everything from beautifully-designed bookmarks, to book-themed candles (they usually smell so amazing), flavoured tea, bath salts, lip scrubs and book badges.

Basically any book-themed paraphernalia you can think of.

The content of the box I ordered included the below:

Gorgeous right?

Except that as much as I loved the box, I knew that I couldn't afford it on a monthly basis considering that there are often custom duty fees involved.

Thankfully I didn’t have to wait all that long before I started to see some local book boxes being on offer. From The Book Case, to Magic & Mischief and Fable Crate, the geeky book goodness started popping up everywhere.

And in today’s giveaway, Hayley from Magical Bookbox, a self-proclaimed Harry Potter junkie and book nerd, tells us a little about what goes into the heart and soul of her boxes (plus scroll down for a wonderful giveaway).

1. What do you think makes book subscriptions so appealing?

I order bookish subscriptions myself so I get to experience first-hand what my customers do.

With regards to my book box, it's the mystery that appeals to readers. Of receiving something filled with unique and exclusive items that are specially curated according to a theme that was chosen for the specific box that they have chosen. The biggest factor about the mystery is guessing which book has been chosen.

Certain themes will appeal to some and not others. It all depends on the readers taste and choice of genre.

The biggest charm, I believe, is a lovely surprise at the end of a long month and having the opportunity to escape into a world of magic and fantasy. It is a great form of escapism.

2. How do you decide on themes?

It depends on which book I have chosen. I usually plan at least two to three months ahead so I can pick a book depending on availability, a related theme and items to add to the box.

The theme for my April box is 'Galactic Adventures'.

The book included in this box is perfect for any Sci-Fi  fan. It is a Young Adult book, which is current and perfect for fans of Star Wars, Six of Crows and the cult classic television series, Firefly. It's about a group of misfits going on a great adventure in space but filled with loads of adventure and action.

3. What are some of your favourite things to include?

Things like the signature themed soy candles which I make myself and the art prints.

We have so many talented artists in our country and it is always a pleasure to discover an artist whose work can be added to my boxes.

I have some explosive and highly anticipated books planned for the next few months and I will also be including items that have not featured in my boxes in the past.

I have a double box planned for May/June. This box will be celebrating the one year anniversary of Magical Book Box and it will be one of the most exciting ones I have ever curated with more items than usual, a highly anticipated novel and I have secured a signed bookplate from the author!

Check out Hayley's instagram here:

Giveaway:

Want to experience the joy of opening a beautiful book box? Hayley is kindly sponsoring a giveaway and is offering readers a chance to win a Six of Crows Box coming out in May. For those who are fans of high fantasy reads, this is perfect for you.

Items you can expect will include a t-shirt, candle, bookish art prints and more.

To enter: 

Follow W24 on Instagram and fill your details in below.

* This giveaway is open to South African residents only. Please note that you also have to be a W24 book club subscriber to qualify for a giveaway as winners will be selected from our database.

* Make sure to also include your Instagram handle.


Book box not quite your thing? How about a subscription to some romance reads from Mills & Boon instead?

I recently wrote a piece on romance reading and the people who shame fans of the genre for reading it. The negative attitudes that are so prevalent amongst many have often resulted in many being afraid to read romance novels in public.

You can read more about that here

The fact that the romance genre still continues to be one of the topselling genres of all time speaks volumes, and no one knows this better than Mills & Boon, who have recently undergone a revamp to modernise and update their books with a brand new look.

To celebrate the SA relaunch of the stunning new jackets, the publishers are offering 3 lucky readers the chance to win a subscription to any  Mills & Boons reading series (modern, historical, medical, etc) of your choice.

*1st prize: 6 Month Subscription to any of the 7 series on the website
* 2nd & 3rd prize: 3 Months Subscriptions to any of the 7 series on the website

To qualify for the giveaway, follow the rules above and enter your details in the form below:

So on offer:

1 x book box
1 x 6 month subscription to Mills & Boon series of your choice
2 x 3 months subscription to Mills & Boon series of your choice

So that means four winners for this wonderful giveaway.

powered by Typeform


Remember giveaway is open to South African book club subscribers only and W24 instagram followers only. If you haven’t subscribed yet, click this link and sign up now!